Manly Deeds Scholars image

To be eligible for this scholarship the applicant MUST:

  1. Be a graduating high school senior to second year undergraduate student
  2. Have a minimum of a 3.0 GPA
  3. Submit an official sealed transcript from te applicants high school or univeristy
  4. Submit a typed Manly Deeds Scholarship Application. *hand-written applications will not be considered
  5. Submit letters of recommendation as specified
  6. All Finalists must attend the Scholarship Awards Banquet
  7. Must attend and participate in the Mentoring Workshops
  8. All Manly Deeds Scholarship Applications must be postmarked by the deadline date.

How to Apply

Candidates must submit a type written application. Download the application here free of charge by clicking the "Download Now" button.

Please Read all the following

  • Manly Deeds plans to award up to 15 scholarships
  • Cash awards range from $500 - $2000
  • Awards based on scholastic achievement and community service
  • Semifinalists are required to attend interview, mentoring workshops and banquet 

Please feel free to email us your questions to:
Derric Taylor:
Jerome Cannon:

2012 Scholarship Class

Brinton Williams - Flintridge Preparatory School
Jelani Khalfani - Monrovia High School
Denise Henry - Westridge School for Girls School
Jeremy Prim - Mira Costa High School
Theodore Caruthers - Los Osos High School
Brandon Samuel - Gahr High School
Alexander Yarbrough - Centennial High School
Taylor Williams - Brown University
Carlos Rojas - Val Verde High School
Malicia Lewis - Riverside City College

2011 Scholarship Class

Aaron Johnson - Palos Verdes Peninsula High School
Kyra Price - Westridge School for Girls
Kendale Washington - Citrus Hill High School
Brennen Carter - Claremont High School
Ian Grant - Pasadena High School
Natasha Mahdi - Inglewood High School
Devin Tucker - Maramount High School
Aliyah Abdullah - USC
Rodney Savannah - Crenshaw High School
Emily Boyd - Flintridge Sacred Heart Academy

2010 Scholarship Class

Jamal Harris - Loyola High School
Aliyah Abdullah - Woodrow Wilson High School
Sergio Rodriguez - ValVerde Student Success Academy
John Mikail - Arlington High Shcool
Tyrone Henderson - Brentwood High School
Maya Humes - Marlborough High School
Ryan Little - Chadwick High School

2009 Scholarship Class

Jordan Williams - Etiwanda High School
Shalyn Smith - Los Osos High School
Brian Rye - Student Success Academy
Omar Escalante - Student Success Academy
La Tiera Zachery - King/Drew Medical Magnet High School
Beverly Uweh - Diamond Bar High School
Blair Parks - King/Drew Medical Magnet High School
Symone Andrew - Los Osos High School
Shani Harris - Pasadena High School
Brittany Winkfield - Carter High School
Raven Burrell - Bravo Medical Magnet High School
Je'Taime Mays - Santiago High School
Deven Cannon - Peter Johansen High School

2008 Scholarship Class

Scholarship Winners
Brian Reese – John Marshall Fundamental
Kendall Rouse – John Muir High
Anthony Prunty – ValV Stud Success
Manuel Najar – ValV Stud Success
Jeania Ree Moore – Mayfield Senior
Jannelle Watson – Paso Robles High
Francois Patterson – Marshall Fundamental
Camille Davis – Blair High

Book Grant Winners
Nicole Dawson – Chino Hills High
Ruth Lawanson – John Marshall Fundamental 
Gabrielle Gage – Carson High
Timothy Ojetunde – Animo South LA Charter

JaNia Cannon
Randall Taylor
Aarron Flowers
Rodney Davis
Victoria Wall

2007 Scholarship Class

Randall Taylor (RB) – Claremont High
Rodney Davis – Loyola High
Eboni Bennet - USC
Giovanni Mays – J.F. Kennedy High
Aarron Flowers – UC Davis
Carmen Vasquez – CA Acad of Math & Sci
Chris Whitenhill - UCLA
Talerior Boykins – Etiwanda High
Victoria Wall – Chino High
Stella Clingmon – Georgetown University
Shirria Carter – Mayfair High
Steven Belcher – M.L. King High
Brandon Brooks – Northwestern University
Theresa Murray – Victoria Valley Union High
2006 Scholarship Class

Aaron Clinkscales (RB) - Colony High
Stella Clingmon (RB) – LA City High for Arts
Aaron Flowers - Blair High
Shirley Rauni – La Sierra High
Eboni Bennett – Univ. of Southern California
Matthew Jones - Ranch Verde High
Desteni Smith - Blair IB Magnet
Amber Simpson - Bishop Amat High
David Watson - Long Beach State
Ja'Nia Cannon - Cal-Poly Pomona
Abdulla Alaa - Val Verde High
Benny Rogers - Musicians Inst of Hollywood
Gabrielle Pina - Ranch Verde High
Geneva Dowdy - Long Beach Poly High
Louie Miller - Long Beach Poly High
Miles Jeffries - John Muir High
Osahon Obazuaye - Etawanda High
Deannine Mustin - Platt College
MiKeisha Baker - Inglewood High
Angel Leyva - Student Success Academy
2005 Scholarship Class

Ryan M. Toles (RB) - Rancho Verde High
Christopher M. Turner – Inglewood High
Paul O. Oginni - Rancho Cucamonga Hgh
Christopher L. Samuel – Rancho Verde High
Cristol R. Stevenson – John Muir High
Anglis A. Hornsby - UCLA
Ja’Nia A.B. Cannon – Cal Poly Pomona
Christopher L. Whitenhill - UCLA
David V.T. Watson – Long Beach State Univ
2004 Scholarship Class

JaNia Cannon (RB) – Sonora High
Stephen Jones - Rancho Verde High
Jessica Kellogg - King/Drew HS of Medicine & Science